#51 Teen worried about accent at Outward Bound

Post a comment or ask a question about any of the new letters being considered as replacements for the less often viewed 50 Original Letters. See index of new letters
Gabby
Site Admin

#51 Teen worried about accent at Outward Bound

Post by Gabby » Sun Dec 21, 2008 11:26 pm

#51 Teen worried about accent at Outward Bound / Accent a consideration, not source of problem

Dear Abby: I am a 15-year-old high-school freshman. English is my second language. I was in ESL during junior high school. I not only learned enough English to go into mainstream, but I also have college prep classes in which I am quite good.

My history teacher told me about a program called “Upward Bound” that holds classes on Saturdays. I applied and was accepted. Now I’m afraid to go. I’m worried that people will judge me because of my accent.

I have received much advice about this issue, but I still need more. Perhaps you will help me. Worried About Colombian Accent

Dear Worried. Go to the class. You were accepted, so for heaven’s sake, take advantage of the opportunity. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. —Abby

Gabby's Reply

Dear Worried: I get that you have been experiencing fear and that you have been worrying [perhaps still are].* The problem, to go or not to go, persisted because you had not [at the time you wrote] communicated to anyone the specific fear/worry, or, all your fears/worries, or the truth (the bottom line), the specific fear, which when communicated will disappear all worries. Clue: We know for certain it’s not your accent. In consulting it’s a given that what a person says is their problem isn’t it.