#81 Do I have to be nice to my boyfriend's family?

Post a comment or ask a question about any of the new letters being considered as replacements for the less often viewed 50 Original Letters. See index of new letters
Gabby
Site Admin

#81 Do I have to be nice to my boyfriend's family?

Post by Gabby » Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:18 pm

# 81 Do I have to be nice to my boyfriend's family? / Am I enabling a victim?

Dear Annie: I am a sophomore in college and have been dating 'Andrew' for nearly six months. He lives with his father and stepfamily. There are several legal problems involving abuse in Andrew’s family. Social Services visits their house often to check up on things. Along with that, his family has no sense of financial responsibility, and much of the burden falls on Andrew. Bills have been placed in his name because the adults in this household have not paid them.

Andrew cannot currently afford to move out. All his money goes toward college tuition and car payments. His father helps with nothing. His mother, who lives in another state, tries her best but cannot afford much.
I know and adore Andrew’s mother, but I cannot bear to be around his father and stepmother. I do not approve of how they do anything in their house, because I feel it endangers the young children who reside there. I rarely visit them, and apparently, they have noticed. They told Andrew I needed to be more "friendly."

I care very much for Andrew, but why do I have any obligations to his family? He feels I should "make nice" so as not to cause any problems. What do you think? - Reluctant Girlfriend