#69 I'm afraid to say I love you to my boyfriend

Post a comment or ask a question about any of the new letters being considered as replacements for the less often viewed 50 Original Letters. See index of new letters
Gabby
Site Admin

#69 I'm afraid to say I love you to my boyfriend

Post by Gabby » Sat Jul 09, 2005 11:02 pm

#69 I'm afraid to say I love you to my boyfriend / Should I start from love or from testing?

Dear Prudence: I am fairly new to the dating scene after a lousy 12-year marriage. "Once bitten" is a major factor for me, so when I date a man and think things are getting too serious, I'm outta there!

I met my present boyfriend three months ago, and I'm really thinking that I want to commit to him. Those three little words are on the tip of my tongue, but I'm afraid that HE will be the one running for the hills if I say them. How do you know when it's safe? -R.L

Dear R.: One way to be safe is to let him say them first. However, some men wait until they are told first because they, too, do not want to send someone to the hills.

Should there come a time when you really want to tell him, do it, trust your instincts.

Also remember that saying "I love you" is a remark on your feelings, not a pledge of anything. —Prudie, providentially

Gabby's Reply

Hi R: You write, "...when I date a man…" as though this has happened dozens of times. Perhaps it has, but what you've done is lump all dates into a generality. The reasons you used to dump #3 are different than the ones you gave to #5, and none of those reasons are the truth. Based upon your comment about your marriage it's clear that you haven't gotten to the truth of how you created your "lousy" marriage. (more about this below)