help me introduce my boyfriend.

Post your own question to Dear Gabby
PorshaP09

help me introduce my boyfriend.

Post by PorshaP09 » Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:20 pm

Dear Gabby,
I'm a 15 year old female! My mom recently allowed me to date, my first relationship didn't work.It's been about 2 or 3 months since I've been in a relationship.It's this boy that I really like, and I "KNOW" he's a GREAT person.I'm new at this so I don't know how to tell my mom about him.This is my first time doing this, he first time my bestfriend introduced him to my mom.This time I would like to. Can u help me?

Gabby
Site Admin

Post by Gabby » Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:03 pm

Hi PorshaP09,

You might not like my knee-jerk first thought but, the fear you have in your relationship with your mother (parents) reveals that you're not ready to date yet. With absolute certainty you'll carry your fear into your relationships. You'll find yourself afraid to mention or bring up certain topics. Topics such as: "If you're going to do drugs please take me home." "It didn't feel good to hear you talk that way to (insert parent, friend, teacher, etc..)." "No sex. And please don't ask again." "Where are you about spanking children?" etc., and dozens of other extremely important communications and questions before you get emotionally involved.